

MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY QUARTERLY MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

A regular meeting of the Committee of the Whole of the Board of Trustees of Governors State University (the "Board" and "GSU," respectively), an Illinois body politic and corporate, was held in person and via audio-videoconference at GSU's University Park Campus in Engbretson Hall on February 26, 2024 beginning at approximately 9:00 am. The purpose of the meeting was to conduct the business described in the Agenda posted for public notice before 9:00 am on February 24, 2024 in accordance with Section 2.02 of the Illinois Open Meetings Act. 5 ILCS 120/ et seq. Before the meeting, each Trustee received books with materials corresponding to the action items, a copy of which is maintained with the Board records.

I. MEETING DETAILS

Meeting Chair Pro Tem: Kevin Brookins

Minutes Recorded By: Therese King Nohos, General Counsel

II. ATTENDEES

Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins confirmed a quorum was present given the presence of the following Trustees in attendance in person at the start of the meeting unless otherwise noted:

- Kevin Brookins, Trustee and Chair *Pro Tem*;
- John Brudnak, Trustee (left at 11:10 am);
- Stacy Crook, Trustee (joined at 10:10 am);
- James Kvedaras, Trustee;
- Karen Nunn, Trustee;
- Angela M. Sebastian, Trustee (via teleconference); and
- Anibal Taboas, Trustee.

President Cheryl Green, Ph.D., *ex-officio* Board member and chief executive officer of GSU, was present, as were the following members of the President's Cabinet who appeared in person:

• Joshua R. Allen, MPS, SHRM-SCP, Vice President of Human Resources;

- Corey S. Bradford, Sr., Ph.D., Vice President for Administration and Finance;
- Janelle A. Crowley, PhD, Chief of Staff, President's Office;
- William Davis, Vice President, External Affairs;
- Maureen Kelly, Executive Director, Government Relations;
- Paul McGuinness, MA, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management;
- Therese King Nohos, JD, Vice President, General Counsel;
- Patricia O'Neal, Executive Assistant to the President;
- Joi F. Patterson, PhD, Chief Diversity Officer; and
- Beverly Schneller, PhD, Vice President, Provost and Chief Academic Officer.

Senate Presidents, Stephen Wagner, PhD (Faculty Senate) and Marquis Parks (Student Senate) were present as well.

III. ABSENCES

Lluvia Hernadez-Aguirre, Student Trustee

IV. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Pro Tem Brookins at approximately 9:00 am.

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS

N/A

VI. CHAIR COMMENTS/APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins welcomed President Green back and thanked Dr. Bradford for serving as Acting President in her absence. He also noted that the Higher Learning Commission was conducting a site visit the day of the meeting and thanked all who had prepared for the site visit. He further noted that it was Black History Month. He then asked for a motion to approve the proposed agenda. Trustee Taboas so moved, and Trustee Kvedaras seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

VII. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins asked for a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the December 8, 2023 special meeting of the Board. Trustee Kvedaras moved to approve the minutes and Trustee Taboas seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

VIII. INFORMATION ITEMS

As set forth in the Agenda, the following information items were presented for discussion:

- Faculty Senate Report by Dr. Wagner;
- The Honors College Study Abroad to Italy Report by Dr. David Rhea;
- The Student Senate Report by Student Marquis Parks;
- The Internal Audit Report by Mr. Kristoffer Evangelista;
- Tuition and Fee Planning for Academic Year 2024-25 Report by Dr. Bradford;
- IT Security Presentation by Messrs. Charles Pustz and David Weissbohn;
- Strategic Planning Process by Drs. Schneller and Wagner; and
- Board Dashboard Update by Dr. Schneller.

Between the reports, there was extensive discussion and question/answer regarding the student trip to Italy; internal audit; tuition and fee planning, including alternative means for raising revenue and the institution of block tuition for full time students; and information technology. The Board adjourned for a break at 11:10 am and resumed session at 11:25 am.

IX. ACTION ITEMS

It was proposed that Resolution 24-13, regarding approval of a collective bargaining agreement with the Metropolitan Alliance4 of Police, be removed from the Agenda and was not further discussed.

As otherwise set forth in the Agenda, the following action items were presented for discussion:

- Resolution 24-14, which would bring the salaries of certain faculty up to market, was presented by Vice President Allen;
- Resolution 24-15, which would approve *emeritus* status to Dr. Cheryl Mejta, Dr. Jeannine M. Klomes, and Dr. Jun Zhao was presented by Dr. Schneller;
- Resolution 24-16, which would approve the award of tenure to Dr. Sonia Dalmia, was presented by Dr. Schneller;
- Resolution 24-15, which would maintain the confidentiality of certain closed Board meeting minutes, was presented by General Counsel Nohos; and
- Resolutions 24-18, 19 and 20, regarding the setting of fees and tuition costs for Academic Year 2024-25 including the use of a block tuition model, was presented by Dr. Bradford.

X. CLOSED SESSION

Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins recommended that the Board go into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(11) and (29) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, 5 ILCS 120/ *et seq.* Trustee Taboas so moved, and Trustee Crook seconded. The motion passed unanimously upon a roll call vote. The open session of the meeting adjourned at approximately 11:45 am.

XI.	OLD	/NEW	BUSINESS

The open session of the meeting resumed at approximately 12:15 pm. Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins noted that there was no action taken in closed session. There being no other new or old business, Chair *Pro Tem* Brookins then asked for a motion to adjourn. Trustee Kvedaras so moved, and Trustee Taboas seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:20 pm.

pproved this 17th day of June 2024	
ngela M. Sebastian, Chair	James Kvedaras, Secretary